Stellarium

Discuss practical questions about using equipment,
finding celestial objects etc.
Donald

Stellarium

Postby Donald » 23 Oct 2008, 14:57

Help! I can't persuade the program to accept an alternative to Paris as a ground location. Any ideas? :oops:

bwh
Posts: 189
Joined: 06 Feb 2007, 23:08
Location: Dalgety Bay

Postby bwh » 23 Oct 2008, 17:12

Quite a common problem with stellarium ....... you are not alone.

The location is altered from the Spanner icon (tools) and the Location Tab - which by default shows map of the world.

Now designers assumed everyone has fancy mouse with a Zoom wheel - which will allow you to zoom into the UK and scotland - see glasgow and edinburgh and choose this as default starting location.

Sadly many folks dont have the special mouse and it is therefore harder. You can alter the Latitude and Longitude settings on the location page and save this as HOME.

Dalgety Bay location information:. Latitude: 56.03667, Longitude: -3.35667 ( or 3.35 W )

You can look up rosythe and other locations if required.

hope this helps.

You can also find additional textures (messier/galaxy) pictures which add to the fun.

Great talk - as i really learned more about stellarium.

There is now a 0.10 version but not fully ready for release (final testing) and that will control telescope - so you can plan viewing :)
bwh

Meade 8inch (228mm) LX5 Smidt-Cassegrain fl=2000
Skywatcher 5inch (120mm) Refractor fl=1000m
Meade DSI Pro
Canon 300D
Toucam Pro II 840k

bwh
Posts: 189
Joined: 06 Feb 2007, 23:08
Location: Dalgety Bay

Postby bwh » 23 Oct 2008, 17:14

oh and second bug - if you do have wheel mouse, then you can click on Edinburgh but when you move mouse to select "set default" the location changes - i once clicked edinburgh and when i selected default by then my mouse over southafrica and thus i set default to africa

so if you can zoom, zoom so only glasgow and edinburgh visible.

bugs -
bwh



Meade 8inch (228mm) LX5 Smidt-Cassegrain fl=2000

Skywatcher 5inch (120mm) Refractor fl=1000m

Meade DSI Pro

Canon 300D

Toucam Pro II 840k

Cosmic
Posts: 364
Joined: 12 Jun 2008, 11:39
Location: Dunfermline
Contact:

Postby Cosmic » 24 Oct 2008, 09:51

Great program!

I had looked at this briefly in the past and did not realise it's potential.
I have installed beta 10 version and so far no crashes (fingers crossed)

I will report after extensive testing.

Cosmic
Meade 8inch  SCT. Observatory mounted on an HEQ5 Pro using EQMOD Canon 1000D modified DSLR,200mm Dobsonian, 200mm Celestron C8, 15x70 Astro Binoculars. 2x Mintron ccd cameras, lots of other stuff.


Return to “Practical Astronomy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest